tuscarawas county literacy coalition logo

Our Scholarship

In Memory of Keith Rathbun

About Our Scholarship

The Tuscarawas County Literacy Coalition scholarship was established in memory of former board member and friend of literacy Keith Rathbun. Rathbun was the former publisher of The Budget Newspaper in Sugarcreek, Ohio, and the Ohio Newspaper Association president. The scholarship is a one-time $500 scholarship offered to students at Tuscarawas County school districts to aid current seniors in continuing their efforts toward obtaining a Certificate/Associate or bachelor’s degree.

2023 Scholarship Winners


Pictured (L-R): Jim Gill (TCLC Treasurer), Julio Sica-Perez (Tuscarawas Central Catholic Jr/Sr High School), Denise Cooley (TCLC Board President)


Pictured (L-R): Jim Gill (TCLC Treasurer), Camryn McGlumphy (Dover High School), Denise Cooley (TCLC Board President)

Scholarship FAQs

The 2022 application period has closed. Stay tuned for 2023 scholarship information.

Scholarship applications can be mailed to Tuscarawas County Literacy Coalition, PO Box 1173 New Philadelphia, OH 44663

Applications must be postmarked by March 31st of the current year to be considered.

Two (2) $500 scholarships will be awarded.

The applicant must:

  • Be a senior enrolled at a Tuscarawas County High School or Tuscarawas County homeschooled senior.
  • Plan to begin their studies at an accredited post-secondary institution in any course of study.

The selection committee uses a rubric to score the following:

  • Essay response.
  • School involvement.
  • Extra-curricular and community based activities.
  • Service to the community.

You are required to obtain two letters of recommendation.

  • 1 from a teacher
  • 1 from another source (club, group, school, etc.)

“How have you or how would you improve literacy in your community?”

The essay must be at least 300 words but no more than 500 words and must be typed.

Scholarship winners are notified mid-April. “Attempts are made to include award announcements in the recipients’ school academic awards programs.”

Payment will be made to the recipients’ college/university directly. Bursar information must be forwarded to the Tuscarawas County Literacy Coalition treasurer.